top of page

The Ritual

as I prepare to leave the hospital the ritual begins


I wash my hands

wipe down my phone, my badge

I clean my computer, my workstation for the day

walking out of the workroom, I handle the doorknob

the elevator buttons

more sanitizer, I rub it between my hands

right before the exit my mask comes off

into my ziplock bag, into my backpack

away until tomorrow

the fresh night air hits my face

I begin the walk home


buildings loom in the distance

keys escape my jacket pocket

another elevator, more buttons

unlocking the front door

my shoes come off 

placed in a large open cardboard box by the entrance

my backpack placed besides

straight to the sink in my socks

I wash my hands

take my scrubs off

laundry detergent spills into the washing machine

scrubs follow, even though I probably won’t turn it on tonight

watch off, glasses on the counter

water from the shower head cascades down my back

the stress, the stories, the sadness down the drain

finally I am free


to repeat it all again tomorrow




33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page